My Easy Detox/Diet

Who feels like crap now after all the food, chocolate, crisps and booze!! Meeeee! I have IBS too so I’m really paying! I feel bloated fat and full of toxins! So I’m going on my version of detox (prob till new years eve only haha) and then start it again. Now when I say detox I don’t mean one of them scary ones where your bloody starving…..no tried all that and you just get dizzy hungry and then binge! My version is prob sort of cheating but it’s easier and better than what most of us probably have been eating

I used to do all the diets etc, but over the years I’ve learned it’s really a lifestyle change or simply enjoying food in moderation and getting the balance right. Bread though is my biggest downfall, I bread with cheese, chocolate spread even shepherds pie would go on my bread haha, but I know I can’t esp with IBS it’s just soooo not good for me.

So after all the crap and letting go I’m going to do my version of a detox that helps me get back on track and helps me feel like I’m less ”toxinated” doubt that’s even a word haha but anyway here will be my plan for the next few days

Morning – Hot water and freshly squeezed Lemon (really great for getting the metabolism going and removing toxins)
If you can stomach eating in the morning (I usually can’t) scrambled/boiled egg with tomatoes, cucumber and 1 slice of whole grain toast or a rice cake is good, I’ll be avoiding the bread :(  but you don’t have to :)

Lemon and water detox

boiled egg on rice cake

Lunch – Some sort of low-fat yogurt or my fave The Danone Activia, they are yummy. And some fruit. OR a smoothie with lots of fresh fruit and low-fat yogurt OR homemade soup and again you can have 1 slice of whole grain bread with this or a small whole grain bread roll

activia fruit-strawberry yogurt detox

Dinner – Steamed/grilled chicken breast with either a fresh salad or lots of fresh veg preferably steamed OR Whole grain pasta (not too much) with steamed/grilled chicken, tinned chopped tomato for some sauce, and some veg

steamed chciken salad veg

Snacks – A small bit of dark chocolate, yogurt, fruit and nuts/seeds…… great list of good ones here

392825new_large

Extra advice : Obviously stay away from alcohol, tea and coffee. Green tea would be great to add through out the day instead while doing this and some light excercise like a half an hour walk or some yoga.

And don’t forget to drink LOTS of water!

You can switch the luch and dinner options to your own liking, basically once your eating things that are healthy and natural like not fried and not full of toxins like alcohol you should start to feel more energized and feeling less ”toxinated” :p

I hope this helps makes post-christmas dieting less stressfull/scary and if you have any other tips let me know in the comments

Glitter Mama x

12 thoughts on “My Easy Detox/Diet

  1. Nice, simple, healthy detox diet. The only thing I would say is instead of activia/low fat yogurts, just have a couple of spoonfuls of full fat natural yogurt with fruit chopped in, as those other yogurts are so over processed and end up having hidden sugars in them, rendering them totally useless. Plus fat is so important in diet, it helps slow down the absorption of sugar and can be made into waste much easier than sugar (which usually just gets converted into fat). My mum always taught me that if you wanted to sweeten your tea/coffee, you’d be far better off with 1 small teaspoon of sugar than a load of those artificial sweeteners jam-packed full of chemicals that our bodies don’t know how to process! I hope that didn’t come across preachy, but I just wanted to give my 2 cents. I really need to get into drinking hot water and lemon, heard it’s amazing!

    • No Odie not preachy at all lol, I welcome all tips and ideas here on the blog :) Yeh their plain activia had no added sugar, but I’m awfull and won’t eat plain haha! Hope you start drinking the lemon and water :) x

  2. Pingback: My Failed Attempted- The 3 Day Fruit Flush | Berry Spice

  3. This is a great detox and a great reminder of how to stay healthy in general!! I’ve also heard great things about lemon and water so I’m definitely going to start trying that soon! I feel the exact same way now that my holidays are over so thank you so much for sharing this!!:) Xo!

I love to read your comments and always reply x

