My 8 Pregnancy Tips

This is a bog post I wrote on an old blog of mine so I said I’d put it on here :) These are some tips I wish I’d known when I was pregnant..


1. DON’T eat for two
Really, there is no need….I did this on my second pregnancy and gained way too much weigh, so much so that I was majorly uncomfortable and didn’t enjoy the end of my pregnancy. You only need approx 200 extra calories a day so really that’s only 2 slices of toast with low-fat cheese.

2. DO take lots of pictures of your bump
Trust me…..as soon as your bump is gone its hard to remember what it was like having such a big belly with your precious baby inside kicking you. You’ll actually start to miss it and imagine little kicks……..OK maybe that’s just me, lol!

3. DON’T try to induce labour yourself!
Yep I tried this myself, brought DD to school 9am, walked an hour, got a fresh pineapple and pineapple juice (yep there is something in pineapple that induces labour), uncomfortable nookie (the doc recommended it haha), washed the car and BAM by 2 o’clock I’m in labour!
The whole labour went way too quick then and couldn’t get an epidural like on my first! Which brings me to my next point

4. DO get the pain relief if possible!
I think there is some pressure out there for woman to go through labour ‘drug-free’
Great if you do/can, but it makes no difference to you as a mother, it doesn’t make you a better or worse mother whatever you choose. Once baby gets out stress free and you’re stress free that’s all that matters :)
I’ve done both, one with the pain relief and one without.
I was much more relaxed, happy and stress free with my first when I got the epidural. Second one as I say there was not enough time and (I’m sorry if this scares anyone) I cried for that epidural………even after the birth I still wanted it haha!
Now maybe I just don’t cope well with pain but I was in bits with the pain, I couldn’t hold my baby after the birth for a few minutes because I was shaking so bad with the pain and shock of what my body went through. I almost don’t want to remember my second birth as it was not enjoyable :( So please enjoy your birth, relax and get some sort of pain relief lol!

5. DON’T laminate your scan picture haha!
It ruins the picture!!! :( makes the ink in it really dark so you can’t see your little beans picture too great :( Instead get a keep sake box so you can keep all your pregnancy and baby memories safe in one place.


6. Drink lots of  WATER
Drink it throughout your pregnancy to try keep fluid retention and swelling to a minimum and after pregnancy to flush out all the excess pregnancy fluids

7. DONT buy a ton of baby clothes
Chances are you are going to be too tired when you have you newborn to keep putting a new outfit on everyday. And for the first 6 months of their life they grow SO quick that newborn clothes wont last them long and you’ll be skipping up in sizes every 2 months.

With my 1st I had dozens of unworn outfits from Next no less (yeah pre recession lol) that she never got a chance to wear simply because there were too many to get through. Now (recessionary times) 2 packs of baby grows that come in 3 from Dunnes or penny and a pack of vests does my little man. I will get him an outfit if there is a sale on, he’s a big boy and growing rapidly so he hasn’t gotten much wear out of anything I’ve bought him so far. When he’s about a year and not growing so quick then I can buy him outfits that will last longer than 2 months hopefully ;)

8. DO keep exercising
Trust me you’ll benefit from just walking 30 mins a day. I didn’t do much on my second (though I did have SPD) and I felt very unfit during labour and post pregnancy. 8 months later and I’m still trying to get fit. So do a bit of exercise to keep your muscles strong! Oh and do your pelvic floor exercises….they really do work ;)

Hope you enjoyed my few tips that I wish I’d known when pregnant. If you have any questions I’d be more than happy to answer here or anonymously :) Or if you have any tips write them below………….. ;)

2 thoughts on “My 8 Pregnancy Tips

    • Awww no sorry you’re not having the best time of it, I promise it’s soooo worth it though. I’ve heard good things about accupuncture for pain, also make sure you say it to the hospital and they might send you to physiotherapy. x

I love to read your comments and always reply x

